What I Have Learned: Discovering Myself

“When I discover who I am, I’ll be free.”
– Ralph Ellison, Invisible Man

It is hard to believe our 398 class formally ended last Thursday! I enjoyed hearing and seeing everyone’s presentations, and learning about the role they played in public history at their respective internship sites. In many ways, I believe all of our journeys have been one of self-discovery – opportunities to figure out both the duties we like and the onerous tasks we do not ever wish to undertake again. Based on what I heard during our final session, none of my colleagues’ experiences were entirely dreadful. However, each had their own series of challenges to confront, which ultimately shaped them into better students and historians.

My own experience at the Swannanoa Valley Museum started as I searched for an internship to match my schedule. Although I would have loved the opportunity to work with Gene and Collin in Ramsey Library’s Special Collections, the schedule for that internship position unfortunately did not fit with mine. Nevertheless, I did want to work in an archive or site with historical documents rather than one with dusty physical artifacts. I liked how Dr. Pearson’s questionnaire made sure to ask us which sites we prefer. This way, she would not place us in an area incompatible with our skills and personalities. Luckily, all of the internship sites listed seemed like reputable, well-run and well-maintained places, lessening the risk of a poorer experience or site.
A few days after I filled out the questionnaire I got a copy of an email from Dr. Pearson saying I was assigned to Swannanoa Valley Museum in Black Mountain. Wow my first internship! I…. know nothing about this place, though. Indeed, I would have much to learn – both about the location and the work I was expected to do.

During orientation, Katherine Cutshall – the assistant director of the Museum and my supervisor – gave me a list of possible projects I could perform this semester. The first was to transcribe old ledgers – presumably from merchants or storeowners from the late 1800s. While this task sounded interesting at first, I feared it would quickly become difficult for me to transcribe a variety of handwriting – some much sloppier than others. I passed on that opportunity and decided to take the next one: organizing the “People” files and creating corresponding finding aids. As I had thought about doing a form of technical writing, I figured writing concise, descriptive material of complex information would give me at least a few of the skills required.

Image result for hanging file

Though it may not look like it, the metal tabs on these files hurt.

 

 

 

At first, I felt woefully out of place. I did not realize, for instance, that I needed to remove rusty staples and paperclips from older documents. Additionally, it took a while to develop a “rhythm” – a concise pattern of sorting and filing I could repeat for each stack of material I faced. Many files also required judgment calls. For example, a single, unsorted hanging file* in a family like the Pattons may need to be broken into five or six separate categories – not only for notable individuals like “Elizabeth Patton” or “John Patton,” but for broader subjects like “Older History” or “Genealogy” . Indeed, it was not until March when I began to get the hang of breaking down disorganized information and organizing it into an appropriate number of separate files.

Not everything I filed was paper. Occasionally, I would come across a CD or spiral-bound family genealogy, although in general, these findings were rare. Most of what I sorted were copies of news articles already scanned and available (either on Newspapers.com or in the Museum itself) or journal articles on a particular person, such as Davy Crockett. However, the trickiest part of my job was not organizing this content, but finding the right words to describe it. Katherine specified these would be “very basic,” although the overachiever within me wanted to write detailed, precisely focused finding aids. Most of my earlier aids were too complicated for the average researcher, but as time went on, they became simpler and easier to read. That does not mean their content or size went down, but rather that they were easier to manage.

The trickiest part of my job was not organizing this content, but finding the right words to describe it.

By April, I had finished these “People” finding aids, which are available on the Museum’s site. Katherine was surprised, as she did not intend for them to be completed so quickly. Part of my relatively rapid accomplishment could come from sheer commitment and dedication. However, another part of it could be that it was not much of a learning curve for me.

Although the “People” finding aids required careful word choice – especially when considering people will eventually read these aids for their own research – they were not the only task where I had to concentrate my writing skills. Towards the end, I was asked to write a blog post about a particular Swannanoa Valley resident or residents – in my case, the Martin family. There is so much that can be said about these Southern Appalachian woodcarvers and musicians that I would have to create a separate blog to tell their story. While I may do that eventually, for now, you can access my article here.

Whether it was through looking up information on the Martin family for the Museum’s website or creating a basic finding aid, writing and research skills were central to my internship. Above all, I believe the duties I performed enhanced my attention to detail, which I can carry over to many fields.

Overall, I feel bittersweet after completing this semester. On one hand, I am proud of my hard work and dedication, and those around me – both inside and outside of the museum- have noticed that. On the other hand, I will not be working for Katherine or Anne (the Museum director) any longer. While it is sad to say goodbye, all good things must come to an end, and my time at the Swannanoa Valley Museum certainly ended on a bright and hopeful note. Not only has this opportunity given me a valuable opportunity to gain hands-on experience, it has shaped me into a better, more competent person. I am grateful to have spent my time here, and will cherish the memories I made at this small but engaging museum.

_________________________________________________________________

* A hanging file is called such because a metal rail is inserted through the folder so it can hang in a filing cabinet.

Leave a comment